Training: Applying “Talk to Action” to two personal concerns

Situation

After having reviewed the textbook, seen the first 20 minutes of Mark Friedman’s hour long talk in Toronto, and scanned implementations in Wales, New Zealand, I was itching to get my hands dirty and do something. Anything.

Task

I picked two things important to me: professional development and elder parents care, neither a crises, and both requiring long term planning and sustained action on my behalf. Then I brainstormed with myself through the basic questions and steps of RA.

Actions taken

RA basics thinking was applied to:

  1. Thinking about how my aging parents would be cared for.
  2. The end-point, scope, timeline, and resource allocation for this effort of learning and using RA.

meta parents

Reflections

  • For the elderly parents care situation, still a good decade away, I answered the questions and was able to uncover the nature of the problem in the population quicker than I have ever done before on any subject. It was thrilling to see the smooth flow from population, indicators, baselines, and trends help to make massive search actually helpful. Frameworks are the book to analyses.
  • In case of professional development, learning RA itself could use some plain language thinking. I was surprised I was moving ahead without a clear result in mind, which created unknown anxiety of a timeline for achievement. I was thinking that I won’t need this website a year from now. But working through the steps, it seems that learning RA and maintaining this portfolio is required at-least through 2019.
Leave a Reply

